The Nickerson Mansion (Driehaus Museum) at 40 E. Erie in Chicago, Illinois
A contrast of time with the columns of the nineteenth century with the skyscrapers surrounding this step back in time.
In 1883 Samuel Nickerson (who founded the First National Bank of Chicago) moved into a magnificent fireproof house build out of brick, iron and concrete. It contains no plaster but seventeen different types of marble, alabaster, onyx, limestone, magnificent woods and brass.
Entrance to the "Marble Palace"
It has had only two family owners, a business owner and some rental years. The home is in wonderful condition but mostly due to the renovation that began in 2003 under the direction of Richard Driehaus a Chicago Entrepreneur and Philanthropist. Completed in 2008 it opened as a museum to the gilded age with Mr. Driehaus' collections of Tiffany glass, artwork and furniture.
The jeweled and leaded glass is everywhere!
Jeweled windows in the dining room
This is the only room where the wallpaper is original. It is Lincrusta by Frederick Walton the inventor of Linoleum.
Many of the fireplaces have Tiffany fireplace screens in front of them.
Tiffany's Peacock Light
One of the first to be electrified and face downward, gas lights had to face up.
Tiffany "One of a Kind"
Executed in glass, brass and mother of pearl